nobel ok

The essence of value

Founded in 1895, the Nobel prize was assigned for the first time in 1901 to Wilhelm Conrad Rontgen, a German physicist. Italy started to get its awards in 1906 with Giosuè Carducci who was awarded with the Nobel prize for literature in 1926 as well as Grazia Deledda who got the Nobel Prize because of her “idealistic inspiration, conveyed in a very clear way and describing the life in her homeland with a deep understanding fort the problems of human beings”.

Luigi Pirandello is not less important, he was awarded in 1934 for his devotion to literature, poetry and the theatre, followed by Salvatore Quasimodo, who was awarded in 1959 for his poetical lyricism and his way to tell human experiences. Once again the Literature Nobel Prize was assigned to Eugenio Montale in 1975 and to Dario Fo in 1997 for his mastery in renewing the tradition of “commedia dell’arte”.
The Italian Camillo Golgi was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1906 for his studies of the nervous system and Daniel Bovet – a Swiss born Italian biochemist was awarded the Prize in 1957. In 1969 Salvador Edward Luria – together with Max Delbrück and Alfred Hershey were awarded for their researches on virus mutation while in 1975 Renato Dulbecco together with David Baltimore and Howard Martin Temin was awarded for his studies about the “interactions among the tumour viruses” followed in 1986 by Rita Levi Montalcini who was awarded for her discovery of the “growth factors in the nervous system”.
In 2007 – the Italian-American geneticist Mario Capecchi was awarded the Nobel Prize for medicine for his studies of “the principle of introduction of genes in mice through the embryonic stem cells”. Among all these honours we couldn’t miss the Nobel Prize for Piece who was assigned to Ernesto Teodoro Moneta in 1907 – together with the French jurist Luis Renault – while the Nobel Prize for Physics was first assigned to Guglielmo Marconi (and Karl Ferdinand Braun) in 1909 for their contribution to the development of wireless telegraphy, then Enrico Fermi in 1938 since he proved  “the existence of new radioactive elements produced by the radiation of neutrons and the consequent discovery of the nuclear reaction caused by slow neutrons”. In 1959 Emilio Gino Segrè – together with Owen Chamberlain – stood out for his discovery of antiprotons. Even Carlo Rubbia (1984) and Riccardo Giacconi - an Italian born naturalized American astrophysicist were awarded with the Nobel Prize. Giacconi won the prize in 2002 for his contribution to astrophysics and the discovery of X rays cosmic sources. Talking about chemistry, in 1963 Giulio Natta, together with Karl Ziegler was awarded the prize for his discoveries in chemistry and the technology of polymers. Franco Modiglioni was awarded with the Nobel Price in Economics in 1985.


Did you know that…
A curiosity about Giosuè Carducci when he won the Nobel price in Literature: the legend wants that a number of very important names were excluded such as Ibsen, Zola since the president of the Commission Wirsen didn’t like the critics to the family, the religion and the monarchy.


Luciana Francesca Rebonato

Web content manager
All Rights Reserved