At full nature

In Italy there are around 800.000 hectares of forests. A lot. But how are they divided? Some figures: there are 24 national parks, 152 regional parks and 403 regional reserves! From the peaks to the abysses: in the Italian “network of parks” there are also 30 protected sea areas to which we must also add the International Shrine of sea mammals, “spread” in France and in the Principality of Monaco, too”.

Present everywhere, the Italian parks feature a number of different characteristics and attractions and it is very difficult to visit them all but if passion catches you…’ll do whatever you can! 
If you want to make a choice you can start with three parks: the Gran Paradiso National Park was the first National park to be established in Italy in 1922, it covers a wide area of high mountains- between Valle d’Aosta and Piedmont - from the 800 meters of the valley bottoms to the 4.061 meters of Gran Paradiso peak.
A few months later, in 1922, the National Park of Abruzzo was established, the right name is National Park of Abruzzo, Lazio and Molise and it is set among the regions that give the name.
The Stelvio National Park is very famous too, it is in the heart of the Central Alps and includes a number of valleys that have been shaped by the ice and by the water that come down from the huge mountains of Ortles-Cevedale.
Gran Sasso and Monti della Laga National Park, with their 150.000 hectares, is one of the biggest in Italy and the wide range of naturalistic landscapes of the mountains together with the very interesting historical-architectonical evidences are summed up in a number of proposals, itineraries and visits throughout the whole year. You should know that the Italian parks are equipped with 2.760 visiting centres and more than 10.000 kilometres of equipped paths.


Did you know that…
The Tuscan Archipelago National Park is the biggest European marine park. It includes the seven islands of the archipelago and also a number of small islands and cliffs. Like the pearls of a necklace, all islands are different from one another but they all share the same feature: the beauty of nature.


Luciana Francesca Rebonato

Web content manager
All Rights Reserved